How Has Justice Garman Voted in Insurance Law Cases?

Today, we begin a seven-post series, reviewing how each Justice has voted in insurer cases overall. First up is the Court’s senior Justice, Justice Rita Garman.

In our first table, we report Justice Garman’s votes for and against insurer parties in civil insurance law cases. Since 2001, Justice Garman has voted for insurers in twenty-three cases while voting against insurers twenty-one times. Justice Garman voted for insurers in only one of four cases in 2001 and one of three in 2003 and 2004. She voted for insurer parties in eleven of sixteen cases from 2005 to 2008. There were no insurance law cases in 2014, 2016 or 2017. Justice Garman has voted for insurer parties in only one of three cases in 2018 and 2019.

Below, we report Justice Garman’s votes for insurer parties who won at the Appellate Court. Overall, Justice Garman has voted for such parties half the time – nine of eighteen cases. Insurers won Justice Garman’s vote in only two of six such cases from 2001 to 2005. She voted for insurers seven of eight times from 2006 to 2008. She has voted against insurers’ position in such cases in all four insurer wins decided by the Supreme Court since 2009.

Since 2001, Justice Garman has voted to reverse in fourteen cases where the insurer lost below, while voting to affirm twelve times. Justice Garman voted to reverse in nine of fifteen cases lost by insurers below between 2005 and 2013. Since that time, there have only been six such cases, and Justice Garman has split her votes 3-3.

Join us back here next Tuesday as we examine the voting records in these cases of two more Justices.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Roger W (no changes).

How Did Insurers Fare at the Supreme Court Between 2010 and 2019?

Today, we’re reviewing the overall data for the most recent decade in the Court’s insurance law decisions. From 2010 to 2019, insurers won six and lost eight as parties to civil cases. They were 1-3 in 2010, 1-2 in 2013 and 0-2 in 2018, 1-0 in 2011, 2012 and 2019.

Insurers won virtually none of these cases at the Appellate Court, as we see in the next chart. Focusing only on wins at the Appellate Court, insurers were 0-1 in 2010, 2013 and 2018.

In our final chart, we show insurers’ won-loss record in cases lost by the insurer below. Overall, insurers won six while losing five. Insurers were 1-2 in 2010, but 1-0 in 2011 and 2012. Insurers split two cases in 2013 and 2015. Insurers lost once in 2018 and won one case in 2019.

Join us back here tomorrow morning as we begin our review of the individual Justices’ voting records in civil cases involving insurer parties.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Jimmy Baikovicius (no changes).

How Did Insurers Fare at the Supreme Court Between 2000 and 2009?

We continue our review of the how insurers have fared at the Supreme Court, this time reviewing the years 2000 to 2009.

For the decade, insurers did reasonably well, winning nineteen cases while losing fourteen. Between 2005 and 2008, insurers won eleven cases while losing only five.

As we saw last time, defending wins from the Appellate Court at the Supreme Court can be difficult. But during this decade things were different. Where the insurance industry had successfully defended only five of fifteen Appellate Court wins between 1990 and 1999, for the years 2000 to 2009, insurers won nine times while losing only seven. Between 2006 and 2008, insurers won seven out of eight cases at the Supreme Court which they had won at the Appellate Court.

Insurers were relatively successful in overturning Appellate Court losses too, winning ten cases which they had lost below while losing only seven. Such cases were relatively evenly distributed through the weekend. Insurers were 2-0 in cases they lost below in 2000 and 1-0 in 2002, but they lost two of three in 2001. They won three of four in 2005 but had only one case per year from 2006 to 2009 – losing it in 2006 and 2007, winning it in 2008 and 2009.

Join us back here next week as we review the voting data for the decade just concluded as well as beginning to review the individual Justices’ voting numbers for insurance cases.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Curtis Abert (no changes).

How Did Insurers Fare at the Supreme Court in the 1990s?

Today we’re beginning a multi-part post, emphasizing how the insurance industry has fared over the past thirty years at the Illinois Supreme Court. Later this week, we’ll begin a similar series over at the California Supreme Court Review.

First, we report the most basic number of all – insurer parties’ won-lost record at the Supreme Court each year from 1990 to 1999. For the decade, insurers batted slightly over .500, winning twenty-two cases and losing nineteen. The insurers’ best year was 1992, when they won five of eight, followed by 1997, when they were 4-3. Insurers won three cases in 1993 and 1995 – they were 3-1 both years – and in 1998, when they were 3-2.

Next, we split the data up according to which party won below. In Table 1442, we review the year by year numbers in cases where the insurer was the winning party below. This shows that in the nineties, insurers had a rough time trying to defend wins from the Appellate Court, winning five while losing ten. Insurers successfully defended two wins in only one year of the decade, 1992 (and even then, they lost three for the year).

Next, we review the numbers where the Court was reviewing an insurer’s loss from the Appellate Court. Insurers succeeded in obtaining reversal in seventeen of those cases, losing only nine. In 1992 and 1993, insurers successfully flipped five of five losses, and in 1995 and 1996, they flipped four in a row.

Join us back here tomorrow as we review the data for the next decade.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Rennett Stowe (no changes).

 

How Many Votes to Affirm Has the Fifth District Averaged in Criminal Cases?

Average votes to affirm for criminal cases from the Fifth District in 1990 was 4.22. The average was 5.5 in 1991, 0.6 in 1992, 2 in 1993, 3.2 in 1994, 7 in 1995, 4.33 in 1996, 4.67 in 1997, 2.33 in 1998 and 4 in 1999.

Average votes to affirm was 3.75 in 2000, 7 in 2001, 4.5 in 2002, 1.2 in 2003, 3.75 in 2004, 1 in 2005 and 2 in 2006. There were no criminal cases from the Fifth District in 2007, 2008 or 2009.

Average votes to affirm was 3 in 2010 and zero in 2011. There were no criminal cases in 2012. The average was 2 in 2013, 2.2 in 2014, 3.5 in 2015, 1.75 in 2016 and 2.33 in 2017. There were no criminal cases from the Fifth decided in 2018 or 2019.

Join us back here next Tuesday as we turn our attention to a new area.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Matt Turner (no changes).

How Many Votes to Affirm Has the Fourth District Averaged in Criminal Cases?

Today, we’re reviewing the yearly average votes to affirm decisions of the Fourth District in criminal cases. The average votes to affirm was zero in 1990, 7 in 1991, 5.25 in 1992, 2.33 in 1993, 4.25 in 1994, 2 in 1995, 1.33 in 1996, 2.56 in 1997, 5.5 in 1998 and 0.67 in 1999.

Average votes to affirm the Fourth District was 2 in 2000, 1.92 in 2001, 3.13 in 2002, 5.14 in 2003, 2 in 2004, 5.22 in 2005, 3.88 in 2006, 4.67 in 2007, 3.43 in 2008 and 3.63 in 2009.

Average votes to affirm the Fourth District was 7 in 2010, 3.13 in 2011, 2.5 in 2012, 4.67 in 2013, 5 in 2014, zero in 2015, 2.33 in 2016, 4.25 in 2017, 1.2 in 2018 and zero in 2019.

Join us back here tomorrow as we turn our attention to non-death criminal cases from the Fifth District.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Gary Todd (no changes).

How Many Votes to Affirm Has the Third District Averaged in Criminal Cases Since 1990?

The average votes to affirm the Third District in criminal cases decided by the Supreme Court in 1990 was 2.25. The average was 2.86 in 1991, 1 in 1992, 4.67 in 1993, 3.5 in 1994, 3.8 in 1995, 3.33 in 1996, 1.17 in 1997, 1 in 1998 and 4 in 1999.

The average was 3.75 in 2000, 3.5 in 2001, 2.43 in 2002, 1.91 in 2003, 2.55 in 2004, 3.4 in 2005, 3 in 2006, 0.33 in 2007, 2.08 in 2008 and 4.4 in 2009.

Average votes to affirm the Third District was 2.92 in 2010, 0 in 2011, 2.6 in 2012, 2 in 2013, 3.75 in 2014, 3.5 in 2015, 1.5 in 2016, 5.8 in 2017, 2 in 2018 and 2.33 in 2019.

Join us back here next week as we review the data for the Fourth and Fifth Districts.

Image courtesy of Flickr by David Wilson (no changes).

How Many Votes to Affirm Has the Second District Averaged in Criminal Cases Since 1990?

This time, as we continue our series tracking average votes to affirm every District and Division of the Appellate Court in criminal cases, we review the data on Second District cases.

The 1990s began at a low point for Second District cases, with an average votes to affirm of only 0.25. In 1991, average votes to affirm rose to 4.83, but that turned out to be the high point for the decade. The average was 1.5 in 1992, 2.4 in 1993, 4 in 1994, 2.63 in 1995, 2.75 in 1996, 4.2 in 1997, 3.2 in 1998 and 3.64 in 1999.

Average votes to affirm the Second District was 3.57 in 2000, 5.67 in 2001, 2.44 in 2002, 3.38 in 2003, 2.13 in 2004, 5.18 in 2005, 1.5 in 2006, 2.2 in 2007, 3.5 in 2008 and 5.5 in 2009.

Average votes to affirm was consistent for the first three years of the next decade: 3.31 in 2010, 3.67 in 2011 and 3.33 in 2012. The average was 5.4 in 2013, 4.2 in 2014, 2 in 2015, 0 in 2016, 1.75 in 2017, 3.83 in 2018 and 1.67 in 2019.

Next time, we’ll review average votes to affirm criminal cases from the Third District.

Image courtesy of Flickr by GPA Photo Archive (no changes).

How Many Votes to Affirm Has Division Six of the First District Averaged in Criminal Cases at the Illinois Supreme Court, 2000-2009?

The Court decided no criminal cases from Division Six of the First District in 1990, 1994 or 1997. Average votes to affirm Division Six was 3.5 in 1991, zero in 1992, 7 in 1993, 3.5 in 1995, 6 in 1996, zero in 1998 and 1 in 1999.

The Court decided no criminal cases from Division Six in 2001, 2003 or 2008. Average votes to affirm was 7 in 2000, 1 in 2002, 7 in 2004 and 2005, zero in 2006, 4.4 in 2007 and 2 in 2009.

Average votes to affirm was 7 in 2010, 5 in 2011, 7 in 2012, 2.33 in 2013, 7 in 2014 and 2.67 in 2015. The Court decided no criminal cases from Division Six in 2016 or so far in 2019. In 2017, average votes to affirm was 7. The following year it was 2.5.

Join us back here next week as we review the data for the Second District.

Happy Holidays, everyone!

Image courtesy of Flickr by Ken Lund (no changes).

How Many Votes to Affirm Has Division Five of the First District Averaged in Criminal Cases at the Illinois Supreme Court, 1990-1999?

In 1990, average votes to affirm Division Five of the First District in criminal cases was 6.5. From there, the average fell sharply: 2.5 in 1991, 1.75 in 1992, 3 in 1994 and 1 in 1995. In 1996, average votes to affirm was 4. There were no criminal cases from Division Five in 1993, 1997 or 1998. In 1999, average votes to affirm was 5.

The Supreme Court decided no criminal cases from Division Five in 2000. Average votes to affirm was 3.5 in 2001 and 3 in 2002. There were no criminal cases from Division Five in 2003. Average votes to affirm was 0.33 in 2004, 0 in 2005 and 3.5 in 2006. There were no criminal cases from Division Five in 2007. Average votes to affirm was 4 in 2008. There were no criminal cases from Division Five in 2009.

There were no criminal cases from Division Five decided in 2010, 2014 or 2018. Average votes to affirm was 3 in 2011, 6 in 2012, 4.33 in 2013, 5.5 in 2015, 6 in 2016, 4 in 2017 and zero in 2019.

Join us back here next time as we review the data for Division Six of the First District.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Matt Turner (no changes).

LexBlog