Over the past several weeks, we’ve been tracking the county trial courts which have produced the Supreme Court’s civil and criminal dockets between 1990 and 2017.  This week, we’re reviewing the overall data for the entire period.

Between 1990 and 2017, Cook County accounted for 44.68% of the Court’s civil cases.  Du Page County produced 5.83%, Lake produced 4.36% and Sangamon County accounted for 4.28%.  Direct administrative appeals were 3.84%, St. Clair County was 3.69% and Madison County was 3.25%.  Will County produced 2.36% of the Court’s civil cases and Champaign County accounted for 2.22%.  Seven cases produced between one and two percent of the Court’s civil cases – Peoria, 1.99%; Kane, 1.77%; McLean, 1.4%; McHenry, 1.18%; Winnebago, 1.11, and Jackson and Macon – 1.03% each.  Rock Island County produced 0.96% of the Court’s civil docket.  Williamson County accounted for 0.89% and La Salle County produced 0.86%.  Original jurisdiction cases, certified question appeals from the Northern District of Illinois and Franklin County produced 0.66% of the Court’s civil docket each.

Tazewell County accounted for 0.59% of the Court’s civil docket.  Vermilion, Marion and Jefferson County produced 0.52% each.  Macoupin County accounted for 0.37%.  Eight counties produced 0.3% of the Court’s civil docket – Grundy, Christian, Ogle, Effingham, Knox, Adams and Kendall counties, and cases in which the county trial court could not be identified.   Bureau, Johnson, Menard, Boone, Putnam, Randolph, Morgan, Lee, Stephenson, Coles and McDonough counties have all accounted for 0.22% of the Court’s civil docket.

Thirteen counties accounted for 0.15% of the Court’s civil docket – Warren, Douglas, Kankakee, Wabash, De Kalb, Greene, Ford, Henry, DeWitt, Montgomery, Edgar, Piatt and Clinton.  Marshall, Iroquois, Alexander, Wayne, Bond, Lawrence, Hamilton, Logan, Mason, Moultrie and Clark counties all produced 0.07% of the Court’s civil docket apiece.

In Table 665, we report the remainder of the civil docket counties.  The following counties produced 0.07% of the Court’s civil docket each: Monroe, Hardin, Pope, Crawford, Union, Perry, Scott, Pike, Cumberland, Fayette, Jersey, Massac, Woodford, Washington and Saline.  Finally, 0.07% of the Court’s civil docket originated in the United States District Court for the Central District of Illinois.

Join us back here tomorrow as we review the overall data for the Court’s criminal docket.

Image courtesy of Flickr by Wally Slowik, Jr. (no changes).